Insomnium – Shadows Of The Dying Sun

Shadows Of The Dying SunI must admit that when I received the promoversion of the new Insomnium album the first thing that came to my mind was “How weird is that they are releasing their album on spring?” Isn’t Insomnium just the type of music that should be released on the darkest days of autumn when everything is dark, it’s raining all the time, moods are low. But how happy I was to receive the album.

Now many of you who have been reading my reviews know that I don’t want to review anything before I have properly got inside of it. Right at this moment while writing this particular sentence it’s 5th time rolling the album since I received it and against my principles I am writing the review already. Well we are talking about Insomnium so 5 times is enough to write a review 🙂

Insomnium 2014

Insomnium is obviously known for their melodic touch but on this album that part has been taken into a complete different level. Songs like The Promethean Song for instance is so insanely beautiful and somehow brutal at the same time that it simply leaves the listener going like “wtf did I just listen?”.

Then there are songs like The River that starts as a really fast tempo song but around halfway turns completely upside down into this beautiful slow tempo song with awesome melodies.  It’s hooks like these that makes me love this band so much. You truly do not know what to expect. Yet you can recognize all the time that it’s Insomnium while listening.

Ephemeral, from which they released a video already some time ago is a very catchy song and probably was the obvious choice to showcase this album. But definitely not the best song on the album.

I think with this album Insomnium will not only keep all their old fans but also attract some new ones. They keep evolving album after album yet still remaining the same. If you ask me, that is an achievement 😀 Their new album is as safe to purchase as in the past was all the new Sentenced (RIP) material. You always knew that you would get but at the same time always discovered something new. And more importantly, something positive. There is beauty in the darkness!

Shadows Of The Dying Sun tracklist:

  1. The Primeval Dark
  2. While We Sleep
  3. Revelation
  4. Black Heart Rebellion
  5. Lose To Night
  6. Collapsing Words
  7. The River
  8. Ephemeral
  9. The Promethean Song
  10. Shadows Of The Dying Sun

Metal From Finland score: 9.5/10


10 thoughts on “Insomnium – Shadows Of The Dying Sun

Add yours

  1. Can’t wait untill the new album is released! These guys are truely masters at what they do and every album is amazing. Its hard to find bands that can continue to release quality records like Insomnium have.


    1. It was 5th time while writing the review 🙂 And not planning to stop listening to it. Since the review was released so much before the release I didn’t want to “turn the knife in the wound” too much and therefore didn’t go too much into detail. Sorry to hear you didn’t like the review. But we can’t please everyone 🙂


  2. Nice post, although I expected a much deeper review rather getting into 3 random songs.

    Another thing to notice, definately it’s spelled *definitely* 🙂


    1. As I replied to one other comment, the release of this album is still so far ahead that I didn’t want to do deeper analysis cause it might piss people off. It is kinda dangerous to review albums beforehand. Been there as a consumer as well and it usually irritates me cause I want to get the album asap. And sorry about the typo 🙂


  3. New song “Revelation” is incredible! I listen to it at least 20 times a day. If it is any indication of the new album, we are in for a helluva treat!


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

Create a free website or blog at

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: